History of Departmental Activities

General Discription

The University of Crete is a public University situated in the cities of Rethymno and Heraklio. It was established in 1973 and started its academic activities during the academic year 1977-78. The University’s central Rectorate is located in Rethymno.

The University comprises five Faculties/Schools and 17 Departments attended by 10628 students (8962 at the undergraduate level and 1666 at the postgraduate level), approximately 600 teaching and research staff members (400 full-time and 200 part-time).

The University had developed nationally and internationally a reputation for its innovative approach to education, research activity and dynamic character in international co-operations. The University Campus in Rethymno (150 hectares in size), is located about 4 km from the city of Rethymno in the area of Gallos. The Faculties of Philosophy, Education and Social Sciences are located in Gallos, Rethymno Campus, along with many of the University’s Administrative Services and the Central Library.

The Department of Psychology was established in 1984 and enrolled its first students in the fall of 1987. It is the first, and thus the oldest Department of Psychology in Greece. In the year 1991 the first class graduated with a BSc. in Psychology from the University of Crete. In 1998 the University moved to its new premises located at the Rethymno campus in Gallos. In June 2004, the Department became officially autonomous (with its own HoD) within the university system and currently has more than twenty faculty members. In 2004 two graduate (MSc) programs were established: in School and Health Psychology. Since its establishment, more than 50 part-time teaching staff members have offered their services to the Department. Currently the department has approximately 1000 undergraduate students, 17 MSc. students, 19 Ph.D. candidates and is still growing.

Former Faculty Members

  • Kalliopi Chatira (Professor of Clinical Psychology, 2001-2018).
  • Panteleimon Ekkekakis (Associate Professor of Sport Psychology, 2006-2011).
  • George Galanis (Professor of Social Psychology, 2004-2008).
  • Alexandra Hantzi (Lecturer of Social Psychology, 1992-1993).
  • George Kanakakis (Assistant Professor of Psychotherapy, 1992-1993).
  • Aristotle Kantas (Assistant Professor of Social Psychology, 1988-1993).
  • Argyris Karapetsas (Assistant Professor of Neuropsychology, 1988-1990).
  • Giannis Kugiumutzakis (Associate Professor of Developmental Psychology, 1994-2000).
  • Athanasios Marvakis (Assistant Professor of Social Psychology, 1999-2007).
  • Katerina Mascha (Lecturer of Developmental Psychology, 2006-2013).
  • Robert Mellon (Assistant Professor of Experimental Psychology, 2002-2005).
  • Giannis Nestoros (Professor of Clinical Psychology, 1987-2015).
  • Nikolaos Papadopoulos (Professor of General Psychology, 1987-2003).
  • Emmanuel Pothos (Assistant Professor of Cognitive Psychology, 2003-2005).
  • Marios Pourkos (Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology, 1992-2001).
  • Anastasia-Valentine Rigas (Professor of Social-Clinical Psychology, 1988-2010).
  • George Sideridis (Associate Professor of Research Methods and Applied Statistics, 2003-2013).
  • Panagiotis Simos (Professor of Developmental Neuropsychology, 2003-2013).
  • Dionysia Vallianatou (Lecturer of Clinical Neuropsychology, 2000-2008).
  • Theoni Velli †(Assistant Professor of Experimental Psychology, 1992-1997).
  • Despoina Xanthopoulou (Lecturer of Organizational Psychology, 2010-2012).


Honorary head of the Department
Hourdaki, Maria (1995-2010)

Honorary Doctorates
Trevarthen, Colwyn (1996)
Thomae, Hans (1997)
Sack, Fritz (2006)
Fusco, Antonio (2008)

Departmental Activities

The Department of Psychology has hosted a number of conferences:

• The 2nd Pan-Hellenic Conference in Psychological Research (Department of Psychology, Rethymno, 1990).
• Aggression in the family, school and society (Department of Psychology, Heraklion, 1991).
• Pan-European Congress: Recent development in psychotherapy (Nestoros, I., Athens, 1993).
• Biopsychology a branch of neurosciences: Contributions and the study of the brain and mental disorders (Kastellakis, A., Rethymno, 1995).
• The social enactment of the "Rebetiko" and its development (Riga, A. V., Rethymno, 1996).
• Issues of methodology in contemporary psychology (Papadopoulos, N., Rethymno,
• The 2nd WAER Congress (Department of Psychology in collaboration with the Department of Primary School Education, Rethymno, 1997).
• The confrontation of Stress & Anxiety (Triliva, S., Rethymno, 1997).
• The 10th anniversary of the School of Social Sciences (Departments of Psychology, Economics, Political Sciences & Sociology, Rethymno, 1998).
• Psychology of Motivation: New approaches and implementations (Papadopoulos, N., Rethymno, 1999).
• Τhe multicultural identity of the family: Immigrant families in the new millennium (Riga, A. V., Rethymno, 1999).
• Bicultural identity and routes of Greek folk music: From Smyrna to Piraeus
(Riga, A. V., & Triliva, S., Rethymno, 2001).
• Brain, mind and behaviour (Department of Psychology & Department of Philosophy and Social Studies, Rethymno, 2002).
• Transit Migration (Marvakis, A., Rethymno, 2004).
• The 1st Pan-Hellenic Conference in Political psychology (Department of Psychology, Rethymno, 2005).
• The 2006 Biennial conference of the International Association for Relationships Research (IARR), Dept. of Psychology, (Kafetsios, K. Chair, Rethymno, 2006).
• Beyond the aforementioned conferences, the teaching staff of our Department have organized and participated in numerous specialized meetings, symposia, antiracist festivals, intensive courses (e.g. multilevel statistical models), and have given many lectures with distinguished scientists from Greece and around  the world.


Participation in European Programs and interuniversity links

Graduate Program in Clinical Psychology

For nearly a decade (1994 to 2005) a graduate program in Clinical Psychology operated in the Department of Psychology. A total of 58 students earned a masters' degree in Clinical Psychology. During this time three doctoral degrees were also granted in clinical psychology. In 2004, the said program was replaced by a new graduate program with two (2) majors; School Psychology and Health Psychology with 56 MSc graduates. Since 2016 the Department operates the Joint Postgraduate Programme "Clinical Interventions in Addictions"  in collaboration with the School of Medicine (U.O.C.) and OKANA.
A total of 27 Doctoral Diplomas have been awarded since 1997.